Yinz Gahn Dahn ta Pittsburgh? A10 Preview: Day 1

Ah, Pittsburgh. What hasn’t been said about Pittsburgh that hasn’t been said about Azerbaijan: it was bombed out but is rebuilding. Actually, I rather enjoy Pittsburgh. The Pirates stadium is one of the best ballparks I’ve ever visited even on a day when the game-time temperature was at least 102 degrees (I’m not joking). Still, for at least today, the basketball played there will resemble this:

Pittsburgh

Hines Ward surveying the A10 matchups on Day 1 of the Tournament

Instead of doing an overall tournament preview, I’ll be doing a daily update of what to expect that day along with a brief recap of what happened the previous day. That excludes tomorrow, when I won’t mention what happened today because 1) nobody will care and 2) it won’t matter. If you’re curious about my A10 Bracket, here it is:

The matchups today are…well just look at them for yourself.

Psycho (1960) Directed by Alfred Hitchcock Shown: Janet Leigh (as Marion Crane)

GAME 1

#12 UMass vs. #13 St. Joe’s

This game is at 5 p.m., so you’ll finally be able to say commuting was better than watching a basketball game. I still can’t believe the Flyers lost to UMass. For shame. St. Joe’s is probably going to be pretty good next year. Sadly for them, they still have to play at least one more game in this lost season. I don’t have anything constructive to say about either of these teams. The Bonnies should paste whoever wins this one. I picked UMass, but that was mainly because I just want that stupid Hawk to stop flapping today. I don’t actually have an opinion about this game – that would require a degree of care I simply can’t muster.

Please keep in mind that this is the better of the two games today. How is that possible you ask?

GAME 2

#11 Saint Louis vs. #14 Duquesne

This matchup is nothing short of catastrophic. Both of these teams are just abysmal, and yet one of them is going to earn the right to inflict themselves on our basketball sensibilities for at least one more day. The “winner” of this game will get to play GW tomorrow, but we’ll all lose because we’ll have the option of watching one of these teams play again. Can we just give GW a bye to the second round and ship these two schools off to some other conference? Anyway, I picked SLU in this one, but I didn’t put any thought into it. If I had I would have picked the host team, I guess. Whateer.

Leave a Reply

